07 November 2011

Proton wins both driver and constructor championship of APRC

Proton sweeps clean the FIA Asia Pasific Rally Championship (APRC) by clinching both driver's title with Alister McRae and constructor championship at season finale in China. For those not in the know, APRC is not a backyard-grown local rally, it is the international, FIA-accredited racing class with entries around the world with various involvement of car manufacturers. This fact make the victory very, very sweet indeed.

While the driver's championship is down to the wire between both Proton drivers, the battle for constructor was still open leading to China's finale. Alister McRae has comfortably leading the Day 1, while teammate Chris Atkinson is 3rd at the end of Day 1. It is McRae forth victory of the season. The Proton drivers were split by Jari Ketomaa in his Mitsubishi Evolution X. For the constructor  crown, Mitsubishi finish second behind Proton, while Subaru is in third place. Such is the dominant of Proton Satria Neo S2000 that it was able to fend off the Japanese legendary rally marques. 

Proton is also the first manufacturer to win all eight categories contested in FIA APRC championship. In addition to the these two sweetest aforementioned victory, Proton also is a victor in FIA APRC Teams Trophy, FIA Asia Cup Driver's title, FIA Pasific Cup Driver's, Manufacturer's title in 2WD category, FIA APRC Rally Cup 2WD category and FIA APRC Junior Cup driver's title.